navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



THE FLU

2001-02-27 - 11:07:01
I hate being sick. Especially the flu. It sucks. BIG TIME.

So you can probably guess how i spent the last two days. I get home from work on Sunday, bummed that I was not going somewhere for three days of fun and excitement but rather I was going to get to work and go to a managers meeting and then work some more. then at 4:50 monday morning I knew that I had the flu. I woke earlier and felt terribly bad. It wasn't until I actually looked at the clock that I knew how early it was. About 8:00 I figured I could still go to work. No problem. I've gone to work sick before, I could do it again. Apparently, I was wrong. I could barely walk to the bathroom sink to get a glass of water. I had to hold the glass with two hands to even drink it. I was shaking so hard it was so cold and yet I was burning up with fever. I called Irene and told her I wasn't going to make it to work. You know the day goes by so slow when you are in complete and total misery and are all by yourself. Nobody to wait on you hand and foot. Not that there would have been much waiting as I only wanted to sleep. But couldn't. All I did all day monday was drink two glasses of water and go to the bathroom twice. That's it. Nothing else. And the only reason I went to the bathroom was because i was up for the glass of water.

Tuesday looked very very iffy by 9:00 pm monday night. But we had our managers meeting tuesday. How can you get the flu and miss the manager's meeting. That stuff never happens in real life, right?

I told Martha to call me Tuesday morning to make sure i was up and ready or if I was still going to be sick. I was awake long before she called but that was only because I couldn't sleep more than a few minutes at a time. Needless to say i didn't go to the managers meeting either. I stayed home. This time I migrated to the couch and stared at the noninformational tv. You know there is nothing but crap on tv before Friends at 6:00 okay the evening news at 5:30 w/tom brokaw. But other than that. Crap. Though I have to admit I did enjoy watching the soap opera for a day. I seldom ever get to do that anymore. But that's alright.

I'm still on the mend though. I can tell cuz my Dr pepper taste pretty drab and well almost nasty. But t hat's cuz I have sick-mouth. I think that's a medical term, no longer in use, but valid. Its when nothing tastes like its suppose to. Cuz I had a hunk of cheddar cheese, a hotdog, two toaster streudels, and a bowl of captain crunch peanut butter flavored cereal today, and well they all tasted the same. nasty. That's sick-mouth.

neurosis ~ catharsis