navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



When worlds collide

2001-02-17 - 17:45:40
Did you miss something from earlier
had dinner with the fam...well not the whole fam, just mom and Tim (the youngest brother) Renee and young Mr Keegan, the best nephew in the world. We went to On The Border, which usually has some of the best Mexican, or rather Tex Mex I have ever had. Unfortunately they changed their menu and well we were none to pleased with what we got. Tim got the Durango steak and cshrimp, I got the pico chicken and shrimp and well it was good, it just wasn't great like every other time I've ever been. But I think the only other times I've been I've been under the influence of a mighty tasty marguarita. For all I know the food always is as unsavory as it was today. But I wasn't really that hungry to begin with, but Tim was going through my apartment in search of anything edible and well it seemed best to go out and eat.

then we all went our separate ways and here I find myself pondering the unponderables of life. What are the unponderables of life. I was thinking earlier before entry number two for today about such things as what makes us happy, i mean truly makes us happy once we get past all the things and stuff that we think are making us happy and I decided that love, in all its entities is what makes us happy.

I wrote this poem this morning and I was hesitant to put it on here because I really don't know what it means. I just like the idea of how it goes from such a grand scale to something so small. But here it is for your perusal. I like it but its not great poetry by any stretch of the imagination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

when worlds collide

it is a quiet thing

like a kiss or a passing glance

or hands clasped in the dark

and in the still of morning

before the dawn brightens the horizon

the stars...they still fall

streaking in the dark sky

like a spent match

flung from a smokers hand

hissing in the morning dew

the curling smoke, its final breath

rising up through the blades of grass

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~AH

reading this and pondering what I was thinking I come to what I take from it now. I really had no thought of it as I was writing it but now well

its funny how each and every one of us is a world all its own, no matter how small or large our world is, we collide everyday with other world around us, not realizing the impact we have on each other not realizing how insignificant it may be or how monumental the impact. It may catch our attention like a streaking star in the night sky or pass into oblivion like another tossed smoking match.

its true isn't it. All those people, all those worlds, and all we know is our own. And its only when another world has collided and stuck with us do we realize there's a difference, there's a friend, a love, a curl of smoke in the grass. am i deep or what

Philosophy can be so cool. Not that this is any way truly philosophical, i was just amazed at the images i saw when the poem came to me as I woke to the sun in the morning. I needed my sunshine as I said before.

I reckon this is enough entries for one day.

so I bid you adieu.

neurosis ~ catharsis