navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



shoes, somethin' 'bout them new shoes.

2001-02-18 - 09:17:35
previous entry Did you miss something from earlier today

okay I know I was going to work, and I am, but I just have to say. There is something about the smell of new shoes. sure they haven't been contaminated by the constant pressures of the foot, but still there is something. Maybe its the leather, maybe is the cancer causing fumes from the adhesives, maybe its polycotton fibre blend of cotton and well honestly who knows what oil based product, but its an ambrosia that puts a skip in your step a bounce in your stride and yes, I just put on my new K-Swiss sneakers for the first time. so what! This is called market testing. I've done Nike, that little swish that looks so much like a check mark on a quiz from high school where it really doesn't count for a grade but if you have all checks you get an extra five points added to your final grade. And Reebok, well its been years since I ambled around in their shoes. I have to say as far as New balance goes, they aren't anywhere close to my favorite. They were just plain enough to catch my attention at the time and the price was right. i can't imagine spending so much on shoes. I have books to buy! But I also can't see myself buying sneakers from payless. Okay so its a touch of vanity. We all have it somewhere. So now I have my K-Swiss.

The only thing about new shoes is when I am walking they catch my attention and I find myself looking down at them. I just know one of these days i will run right into somebody and make a complete idiot of myself. And you know as well as Ido, when that happens, it will be miss right and while she will be charmed by my klutzy and downright oafish behavior, it will take all my willpower to look her in the eye and say "what the hell is your problem, watch where you are going. look you scuffed up my new shoes!" HAHAHAHAHAHA

okay I got to go, this is just too surreal for my own liking.

minutes later

you have to wonder sometimes if the fates of the world are against you. Really you do. You are all set to amble to work in your new shoes. You even have one comfortably fitted and tied to the right foot and then you reach in for the second shoe and you notice something stranger. Its the same shoes as the other one. they're both right foot shoes. The lady at the cash register looked in the box, examined the shoe and lo and behold did she notice. Apparently not. sigh now I have to wear my old drab boring New Balance (that I don't really like anymore, and they know it and will hold it against me) shoes. Life is not good

neurosis ~ catharsis