navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



London, days one and two.....It's LONDON BABY!

2001-04-15 - 9:29 a.m.
So here i am in london, baby. ain't life grand. i thought so. is that a tint of green on your face or are you just sick from the beef. oh wait after all teh admonitions about beef, i am too petrified to even consider eating beef. of course everyone and tehre dog seems to be eating everywhere i go, but hey, don't eat beef they tell me so for lunch yesterday i had teh yummiest chicken sandwich at mcdonald's you could possibly imagine. do you note the sarcasm that I am expressing. rest assured it is true.

i would have update earlier but the truth of the matter while london in and of itself is fantastis. almost orgasmic in my total enjoyment of the place, my hotel in and of itself could be better. course it would have helped had i decided to get an adapter for teh electricity and the phone but this is the next best thing. a place where i canupdate. i know the fans at home, and here I would normally let loose a guffaw that would shake the very foundations but i am the only one in here except a middle eastern gentleman weho probably would not appreciate the humor.

anyway this is the update

the flight in to london was pretty cool. actually it was one of the best flights I have ever been on. |American Airlines, something special in the air!

But my part of the train was filled with a highschool (or its british equivalent) soccer team. Wade and the boys would have enjoyed themselves immensely I am sure. So the flight didn't really have any of the tension that you usually get with people who carry images of death and destruction in their heads. Quite to the cotrary that were having a good ol' time. It was a bit refreshing to say the least.

Once here at the airport I caught a train into london and then got on the subway to the station nearest my hotel. I was expecting it to be a bit anxiety producing but it was nothing really. as a matter of fact people were axsking me questions. I felt like a professional traveller. Anyway once i got to my hotel i found out that check in was at 2:00. Not the best of news to say the least but something I was okay with at the time. I had some exploring to do as it was. so i checked my bags with a gentleman who one might call strange on a good day and wne to explore hyde park which was just a hop and a skip away. it was a bit chilly outside and well i didn't exactly dress for that but i'm a trooper, right. well as it was only 9:00 when i got to my hotel in the first place by 11:00 the troops had all gone home and I was left with a freezing tired cranky person who just wanted to go to his room and go to bed for the next 24 hours. but my room wasn't ready, at all.!!

By the time the room was ready I decided I was going to bed. And that's what i did. i climbed the stairs, cuz as fortune would have it this little hotel, a wondrous beauty of english construct had to lift. isn't that great. so i am climbing happily up the steps and climbing and climbing and climbing up the 6 floors to my room. you would think that a building that only has 19 rooms that it would take 6 floors to get me there. as fortune would have i was room 18. as high and as f ar as one could go. okay room 19 was right next to me so i suppose they would have to go another 2 feet further. and they are old people. how do they do it?

so i slept the rest of saturday away in a droggy sleepy haze. it was delightful to say the least

sunday morning was an early occassion. the continental breakfast was paltry to say the least. especially having to walk all the way downstairs to get it and then having to go down one more flight where the restaurant, imagine sarcastic parenthesis here b ecause it was a room with a kitchen off the side with a guy who doesn't know what deoderant is was pouring juice and setting out pieces of bread and jam and marmalade and dry cereal. needless to say iwent to starbucks where you get to pay extra if you are eating inside. london, baby!

Anyway. After breakfast, a big mug of chocolate milk, (american chocolate milk is better, but the whip cream here is to die for) then I started my trek through the world that is london. I went to hyde park again, to kensington palace, not as grand as you might think, to Big Ben, to Westminster Abbey, (though I will have toretrun as it was not open to tourist on Easter Sunday, or Sundays at all f or that matter, The British Museum, the NATIONAL Gallery. Both of which I plan on returning. By then it was getting on to 4 o'clock and my feet were telling me stop, enough already. so I clamoured back on to the subway and rode comfortable back to the hotel. it was nice. and convenient.

now it is monday morning, a b ank holiday here so everything is only open a short day today. i am going to go to fleet street (where all teh bookstores are !)

Just a small note to my home town people, next time i take a trip, we all have to go. You would love london, naturally. it would be a blast. but i sure do miss you guys! I really do. I hope you are all okay. Send me an email so that i know you email address so that i can write to you. i will update as soon as possible since this is right down teh street from my abode.

take care of yall and be good! I mean it. Thus ends the chronicles of Andrew in London Days 1 and 2

neurosis ~ catharsis