navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



The Momentous return and morning streaming through my window avec le soleil

2001-04-25 - 7:34 a.m.
Well qas the fates would have, (and american airlines, something special in the air) I am finally back home. And can I tell you how wonderful it was to sleep in my own bed. I swear I hit the bed and was out, before mes amis, my friends, pulled out of the parking lot. They were kind enough to come by the airport yesterday afternoon and pick me up at I guess when we finally found each other it was about 6:15 or so cuz it was after 6:00 when I looked at my watch and contemplating picking up the white service telephone and having them paged across teh airport terminal. Fortunately right afterwards I saw them coming back through the security area after not seeing me at the gate where i was to be arriving. Course they tell us which gate but tehy don'ttell anyone that we have to go through the international terminal which includes having to go through the immigration and the luggage check to make sure I wasn't going tob e smuggling any animal or beast that might disrupt america's fragile ecosystem. Like I might have stumbled upon an African elephant mouse (outside of the London zoo) that I might introduce into the america's for breeding. SO anyway I ended up halfway across the freaking airport my arms stretching to the bottom of the floor carrying my luggage teh length of the airport with me. It wasa gony. My arms and hands are terribly sore right now and I swear I could probably scratch my ankled without bending over at all.

So after the airport we were going to have a fun-filled afternoon, but particular parties whom shall remain nameless, even though we all know who they are, had to leave earlier to go back to the homestead, but that was alright. It would have been cool to have then there too, but I won't berudge anyone time with whoever they wish to be with.

So I was at first going to be dropped off so that I could take a shower, ahhhh, and american shower, with real hard water pressure, that if necessary could be used to take grafitti off walls. Now that's a shower. While others were suppose to go and fetch money and people and so forth and so on. They ended up staying because someone else had plans to have dinner and didn't get to go, which he should have gone because while my momentous return was indeed that, momentus, he did make plans with the otehr person, whoever it might have been, (insert diabolical laughter.) But anyway I took my shower we waited a bit for Paige to arrive, cuz well it just would be right to forget Paige now would it, and she arrived, avec Maurice, my new fish, who for some reason I find myself talking to with a French accent. Go figure. he seems a bit listless, perhaps its the new environment, maybe he doesn't like the song stylings of garth brooks, perhaps he would prefer a little Jacques Brel, let me see, he does seem to enjoy the musical treatment of Ne Me Quitte Pas, which of course means Maurice has great taste in music. Now I will grant you my French is a bit rusty, okay very rusty, but the song is enchantingly beautiful, which reminds me I should tell someone to listen to it. I think he would be quite enamoured with it, as he is studying French and well from all acounts suffers from a terrible romantic streak. anyway I got sidetracked. I moved Maurice in my room with me cuz well otherwise teh only interaction he would get would be me watching Friends and while an enticing bit of entertainment, I fear I would prove to be a bad 'parent' if that was all arts he was permitted to experience. Of course Ne Me Quitte Pasm ight depress poor maurice being in that fish tank all alone. Perhaps he needs a companion, someone to circle the tank with aimless passing away the day. We shall see maurice, we shall see

But where was I. Ahh yes Paige arrived and we waited around abit to see if Michael and Chris would be joining the festivities, but by 11:00 (5:00 a.m. London time) we decided it wasn't going to happen. I let them all taste the IRN RU that I brought back from england, its a scottish fizzy drink, that has quite a unique taste to it. They all liked it, or at least they were in the least bit disgusted by it. Anyway SO we ventured out once again, to Bennigan's where I had a quite delightful american hamburger with cheddar cheese and bacon. It was a good burger but I can't help but thinking that I might have enjoyed one of those whoppers in London so much more. Next time and there will be a next time, I am eating a freakin burger!

But after Bennigan's we return a chez moi and watched a moive. First Wives CLub. Apparently while I was gone, they had a Bette Midler type lift me up movie night, watching Hocus Pocus, First Wives Club and Death Becomes Her. How that one got in the mixe, I'm not sure. maybe its a connect the stars a la Kevin Bacon type thing. You know Bette Midler was in Hocus Pocus with Sarah Jessica parker, who was in First Wives Club with Goldie Hawn, who was in Death Becomes Her...I don't know....I'm just reaching here. BUt we watched First Wives Club, which was alright, not fabulous or anything whcih explains why I didn't see it live and in person at the theatre. Speaking of movies, on the flight home, I watched Billy Eliot, which was really good. It really was. It was a first class movie selection and we were supposed to watch Men of Honor and Legend of Bagger Vance and well it Billy Eliot was the best of the three that I watched. There were a couple of other firstclass films I was hoping to get to watch cuz i wanted to see those too, but they they must have realized they were showing firstclass movie selections in the luggage section or something cuz then when the next movie started we were back to main cabin selections. But anyway, I recommend Billy Eliot to anyone. It was good.

Anyway where was I, after Good Wives Club, I through the vagrants out, because I was dead tired. Cuz I had been up for an awdfful long time and was a bit fatigued. I was out like a light as soon as I hit the sheets. Out, thinking to myself "I'd be asleep in no t....." and I was.

I woke up thinking I need to catch the subway and get to the airport or I would be late and left in London. It was a wonderful and melancholy realization that I was home, the sky was an amazingly rich blue and the sun shone as brightly as any summer day. It was delightful.

Now I am sitting here updating, trying to figure how I am going to write a 5 page paper on Thomas Hobbes by tomorrow. eeek!

Anyway I gotta go up to the bookstore. The new David Feintuch has arrived at last!!! And I shall have it, I shall have it soon. I can't wait to open it up. And dive right in.

Okay book reccomendation.

Donna Tartt, A Secret History This is one of the most scintillating beautifully written books I have ever read and read and read again. Its amazing. Donna Tartt is superb, never mind the stupid Kirkus review at Amazon. Kirkus is moronic when it comes to this book. Cuz this book is incredible! Go to your second hand bookstore and find a hardcover of this book. Its a keeper! if not, well click the link and use Amazon.

I don't have much else to say. I have some texas weather to go soak up, some fresh morning to experience. Its a shame we don't have a hyde park that i may make my way through. Because this is definately strolling through the park with a baguette and a beverage, a Frisbee, a dog, a friend weather.

So I will make this adieu for the time being. I miss London!

neurosis ~ catharsis