navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



friendship and love

2001-05-22 - 5:56 a.m.
Friendship and love

Love is a blinding affliction. I was going to say blonding affliction, cuz it makes everybody dumb, but that would just be rude. But a blinding affliction, this is so true. Blinding to many things.

Friendship is a blinding affliction too, except its different. Friendship infers a history and a future. Love requires a future. cuz it can begin in an instant, at first sight. Friendship infers loyalty, love requires it.

the thing about Love and friendship though, is that you can choose your friends, seldom does someone choose the person they love. I believe this is true. I believe that with love, people just fall, head over feet, tumbling blindly, and sometimes they hit rock bottom. Its a terrible crash, it hurts like any other visible wound, more so because its deep. With Friendship, we look for our friends. Our friends like the things we do, do the things we do, act the way we act. The person we fall in love with can have nothing at all in common with us, or everything. Love is blind to the human condition.

I guess the main reason I am talking about love and friendship is that one of my friends is mad at another of my friends because of his devotion to the one he loves. Whether it is that his devotion and loyalty is misdirected, that is not for us to say. Nobody wants to know that the person they love is not right for them. If anything can come between friends, it is love. because there will always be a greater love. With love there is so much to lose. I'm not saying that with friendship you lose nothing. But love; you lose so much more. Some people may disagree with that, because friendship is a strong bond too. But love ,you lose self esteem, you lose self respect, you lose heart, you lose the idea that you will love again, you lose the urge to love again. Maybe I am just saying this all wrong, it sounds all wrong reading it. If I were to fall in love with the wrong person, and many many people have told me that this is the case, I will be hard pressed to have someone tell me this is the case. But I will not be swayed by what tehy say. this is osmething I will have to discover myself. Nobody gets to break my heart but me and the one I love.

Firendship is loyalty, true. But its not loyalty when you start counting the times. You can't count the times someone is your friend and when they aren't. i want to say I have all the answers but i don't. I want to say i'm right, but I don't know if I am. All I know is that I want my friends to be friends with each other. Its something that doesn't look promising right now. But I'll keep on working on it myself. especially since they were friends before I came along, and by golly, they're not gonna fall apart on my watch! grin

neurosis ~ catharsis