navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



Austin Day 6 Man its hot!!!!!!!

2001-07-06 - 2:38 p.m.
So, I really didn't update much yesterday so I figure today would be good. Tomorrow I return home. Sigh. Vacations should last much longer. No really they should. Granted I miss everybody at home and they might miss me a bit too, but still an eternal vacation, how great does that sound?

Anyway my day in review, yesterday that is and part of today.

I woke up as usual. THey're building a house next door and well the hammering and sawing and loud music makes for a great alarm clock (if you want to get up that early) Its not so bad where I am sleeping. But still you can hear them working away.

Anyway Jennifer had to go to work and I wanted to go back to the Half Priced Books and so that is what I did. I ambled on down there, it was hot let me tell you and I poured through the fiction aisle in hopes of finding something interesting. I picked up a copy of
The Secret History
This is an awesome book. I think I've mentioned it here before, or in the diaryland site, but it is one of my favorite books. You should read it, if you haven't already. Its awesome. Anyway I picked that up for Jennifer, cuz she hadn't read it before and I thought she should. Other than that I really didn't find anything else at the bookstore I wanted. I decided against those Time Life books. Then I wandered back to the homestead and waited for Jennifer to get home so that we could go to lunch. As I mentioned we were dining at


I had the cheesesteak, just a normal one with extra meat and I have to tell you, quite delicious. Really its good. They are supposed to have these in Dallas too so maybe back at home I'll be able to persuade someone to go. But it was really good. I enjoyed it immensely. After lunch we walked back to the house and Jennifer had to go back to work and she dropped me off at

I always go to this bookstore when I am down here. Always. I always find something that I can't live without. SOmetimes more than others. Once I spent like $250 on books in this store. It was a collectors edition of Robert McCammon's Swan Song, one of my favorite books.

I almost didn't buy this book because the cover is so evil and menacing looking that I was turned off by what it might be about. But it is very similar to Stephen King's The Stand. Dare I say I enjoyed it better than The Stand and I love The Stand. SO suffice to say I had to have this book. Today however, I only bought one book. The Essential Stephen King. Its pretty cool. It ranks the 100 most influential writings of Stephen King. I agreed wholeheartedly with the No 1 book It That is my all time favorite book of his too. It was phenomenal. A lot of people pick The Stand as the number Stephen King book, and while I enjoyed it immensely as well, It is by far my most favorite. The rest of his enumerated choices differ with mine a great deal. But still, I had to have the book.

After Adventures in Crime and Space, I ambled up to the State Capital building. Actually it was the air conditioning that seemed so very appealing. It was damn hot down here these last couple of days. So I went into the capitol building and heard my voice echo in the rotunda. I did my Sean Connery voice. There's a certain spot under the dome in the rotunda that if you stand inside the circle your voice will echo aloud. Step outside the circle and no echo. So my Sean Connery echoed through the rotunda. It was kinda cool. After the capitol I went to the new Texas History museum. Just opened it. Really spiffy. I really didn't go through it, again the appealing air conditioning was the most important thing on my mind. But I did buy me a shot glass, cuz well I collect those. Then I ambled my way back to Guadalupe and down Guadalupe to the Barnes and Noble. Actually I went into the UT Coop next to BN and bought a UT shot Glass too. It was kinda cool. Then went to B&N for the air conditioning. They didmn't have anything so appealing in the book area that I was looking for. I did look at some of hte screen play magazine. I have this urge to write a screen play. Wouldn't that be cool. SO after B&N I moseyed on back to the homestead again. By this time I was rteady to be inside and it was so hot, I was all sweaty. I stopped at the 7 Eleven and got me a Dr Pepper, cuz that always hits the spot. I sat on the back porch for a bit, too cool down before I was hit by that gust of air conditioning. Probably going to give myself a cold if I'm not careful. Then I rested up a bit reading my new Stephen King book, and watched some stupid tv, cuz well it was on and then Jennifer got home from work. Then we went to Matt's famous El Rancho Restaurant. Great Tex-Mex. It really was pretty good. Apparently the person who started this restaurant, also has Matt's Rancho Martinez, up in Dallas, so another place to go eat. It was good. Then after a hefty filling meal we went to a bar called Oceans 11. IF the name sounds familiar it might be because of the movie that is being made, a remake of a Rat Pack movie. That's the reason it sounded familiar to me. But its a Tiki bar. We stayed there for a bit, long enough to let our food digest and drink a drink. I had this drink that while it was good had too much juice in it. So I had to chase it with a shot of Red Label. Sometimes that tastes like burning...hehehehe. Anyway after Oceans 11 we went to Ginny's. Little Long horn saloon


I know you probably don't even need to guess who we saw at Ginny's. Yes that's right, Dale Watson. I told you, they're big fans. Anyway we stayed there until about almost 2:00 and then we were homeward bound once again. After a quick and cigarette smell ridding shower I went to sleep, only to wake up at 11:00. Like what is it with all this waking up anyways.

So. THe day started out slow and easy. Me reading my book, Jennifer getting ready for work, well actually getting ready to go have lunch before going to work. She has a standing lunch "date" with a colleague on Fridays. So we went to


It was really good too. I was prewarned they're sort of like the Soup Nazi there though so I had to have my drink order, (which of course was not a problem, except for the fact that they didn't have Dr Pepper!!!!)and then I had the Carne Guisada. Very good. They were very busy. But it was good. Then we came back to the house. Jennifer finally got to go to work and I decided this would be the perfect opportunity to update. SO here is the update. I don't think I forgot anything. But you know, read me later, just in case something great slipped my mind. Most likely not.

neurosis ~ catharsis