navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



a day lived in mediocrity is still a day lived

2001-07-31 - 4:03 a.m.
Before I let you read my journal which I started this morning before I had to go to work and am finishing now at 3:35 in the morning I wanted to share this song with you. I know, I know, what the hell is up with that. Be original, you cretin! Well I heard it on the radio, and truly it has a message a small message, maybe one line out of it, that will work for almost everyone who ever chances upon this site. You've probably heard the song, or read the book, made from the song. It was given as graduation gifts to countless millions. Nothing like a song of good common sense. But here it is.

It says it all.

Wear sunscreen.

If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be it. The long-term benefits of sunscreen have been proved by scientists, whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own meandering experience. I will dispense this advice now.

Enjoy the power and beauty of your youth. Oh, never mind. You will not understand the power and beauty of your youth until they've faded. But trust me, in 20 years, you'll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can't grasp now how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked. You are not as fat as you imagine.

Don't worry about the future. Or worry, but know that worrying is as effective as trying to solve an algebra equation by chewing bubble gum. The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind, the kind that blindside you at 4 p.m. on some idle Tuesday.

Do one thing every day that scares you.

Sing.

Don't be reckless with other people's hearts. Don't put up with people who are reckless with yours.

Floss.

Don't waste your time on jealousy. Sometimes you're ahead, sometimes you're behind. The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself.

Remember compliments you receive. Forget the insults. If you succeed in doing this, tell me how.

Keep your old love letters. Throw away your old bank statements.

Stretch.

Don't feel guilty if you don't know what you want to do with your life. The most interesting people I know didn't know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives. Some of the most interesting 40-year-olds I know still don't.

Get plenty of calcium. Be kind to your knees. You'll miss them when they're gone.

Maybe you'll marry, maybe you won't. Maybe you'll have children, maybe you won't. Maybe you'll divorce at 40, maybe you'll dance the funky chicken on your 75th wedding anniversary. Whatever you do, don't congratulate yourself too much, or berate yourself either. Your choices are half chance. So are everybody else's.

Enjoy your body. Use it every way you can. Don't be afraid of it or of what other people think of it. It's the greatest instrument you'll ever own.

Dance, even if you have nowhere to do it but your living room.

Read the directions, even if you don't follow them.

Do not read beauty magazines. They will only make you feel ugly.

Get to know your parents. You never know when they'll be gone for good. Be nice to your siblings. They're your best link to your past and the people most likely to stick with you in the future.

Understand that friends come and go, but with a precious few you should hold on. Work hard to bridge the gaps in geography and lifestyle, because the older you get, the more you need the people who knew you when you were young.

Live in New York City once, but leave before it makes you hard. Live in Northern California once, but leave before it makes you soft. Travel.

Accept certain inalienable truths: Prices will rise. Politicians will philander. You, too, will get old. And when you do, you'll fantasize that when you were young, prices were reasonable, politicians were noble and children respected their elders.

Respect your elders.

Don't expect anyone else to support you. Maybe you have a trust fund. Maybe you'll have a wealthy spouse. But you never know when either one might run out.

Don't mess too much with your hair or by the time you're 40 it will look 85.

Be careful whose advice you buy, but be patient with those who supply it. Advice is a form of nostalgia. Dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it's worth.

But trust me on the sunscreen.

If you go to the livejournal which is further down the page you can scroll down the entry and add a sentiment or something along the lines of this song/message. you have to be a livejournal member though to do so though. Livejournal is cool though

Okay on with the entry:

I'm going swimming in 25 minutes. so you better hope I get this update up and online before then or well you'll just have to wait.

Not that an update this morning would be all that interesting but I thought I would get one online cuz well, why the hell not. The day has started rather badly so far. My back is killing me. I don't know why. I didn't sleep all that well.

I really don't have much in the way of an update anyway. I've been up since about 6:30. I really should destroy that alarm clock, but then when I go out of town and people watch my apartment, they won't have anything to complain about when I get back, so the alarm clock stays. Plus there really isn't anything wrong with starting out the day early. Is there. Unless its a bad day. Yesterday was a bad day. I did nothing. I ate 8 Ritz crackers. They didn't really hit the spot all that well. And even my Dr Pepper, the nectar of the gods, it didn't even taste that well. but I guess an excess of Vodka will do that to you, huh. It did for me at least.

Hmm, what to say what to say what to say. I really should just go swimming.

The one movie that I am really looking forward to right now. Although, that's not true cuz there are several, but this is going to be an awesome movie.


But then there's


If you haven't read the books, then you are really missing out. I know, I know, you're saying to yourself, but they're kids books, yeah so what. Lord of the Rings was written for children too.

Then there's Hearts in Atlantis.



A most amazing book, and bound to be a most amazing movie.

I suppose you could be reading all of this else where. Maybe I should just go swimming....
There's nothing like a nice cool swim. Okay cool is an overstatement, it being as hot as it is out there and the pool being somewhat small and only 5 ft deep at its deepest, the cool part is just wishful thinking. Except when you jump in again after you've been sitting and reading for a bit after the first swim. Then it is cool. But you'll be happy to know that I did have a nice cool swim. eventually


Work was cool. It really was. It could have been much better had Martha left when she was supposed to instead of hanging around till 10 minutes until we were supposed to close. I got to work with Derek, who is by far the most fun person to work with. I think its because he could careless if he's there or not. It really means nothing to him. He could get a better job at almost any place else and get an increase in pay to boot, but he stays at the bookstore. I'm trying to convince him to go full time so that he will get at least a little benefit out of it besides coming to work and doing nothing for 8 hours a day. But he's proving to be difficult. Plus he'll be going to school for 18 hours this fall and that's a lot of school plus full time work. He likes to have his free time and have fun too. So he probably won't go full time. But he is so fun to work with. We make fun of everybody, well not everybody, but its just a laugh a minute. Except tonight Martha stayed and annoyed us for 3 extra hours. And it would have been different had she stayed and actually did work or something while she was there, but no..... Then I received some of the new books we got from UPS and made Derek work on the floor with Martha. I think he's going to kill me. All I could do was laugh. It was hilarious really. He's threatened my eventual car with a tire slashing. I think he was serious. ha.

After work Me Paige Christan and Wade all went over to the West End. We were supposed to go to Johnny's rockin' whatever it was called, but it was already closed by the time we got there,so its name isn't worth remembering. Instead, we went to Planet Hollywood instead. It was all right. I had a margarita. tasted like sour coolaid. Couldn't taste the alcohol nor feel it, which means it really had to be weak. Course I guess my tongue could be still recuperating from Saturday's drinking binge. I don't know. But we had fun Then we came home, I watched a movie with Wade and we talked for a bit, or rather he talked for a bit and I listened. I'm a great listener. I had a tiny miniscule bit of input, but for the most part I listened. I'm a great listener. I really am. Its one of my strengths. Every once in a while when necessary I put in my two cents, but more times than not, they know what's what and my two cents is so obvious it goes without saying. Its a skill really. HA!

And now I'm updating. I know you're saying, man that was some update. It really is filled with a bunch of filler. But my creative muse has abandoned me of late to work on something with somebody else I think. I think Stephen King stole my muse. Lucky for him I love what he's written so far or I'd take my muse right back. somehow.

Okay I better go. read me later

neurosis ~ catharsis