navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



hmmm, what goes here

2001-08-03 - 10:37 p.m.
I started writing an entry earlier, one that was going to go to just a certain individual about a certain thing, but then I changed my mind. I shouldn't go giving advice and my opinion to people just because I have one. Plus I don't know who's confidence I might be breaking so I keep it to myself and if they want advice or an opinion I would gladly share it with them.

For the past couple of days several people have mentioned writing, whether it be rhetorical or a true desire to do so, it has put me in the mood to write too. Like reading, there was a time when the idea of writing a story was the farthest thing from my mind. Truthfully. It never occurred to me that I could write anything more profound than a faked doctors excuse for school. Not that I ever did that mind you. But along the same time that I discovered Stephen King (watching Stand By Me) I also uncovered this incredible desire to express myself in written form. I don't know where it came from, why it came, or how, but the desire came and with it a whole new sense of who I was. I would write these things and all of it would be coming from inside of me. My mind my heart my thoughts my creation. All of it. it fascinated me, how these people who were never real, who never walked my streets or drank my Dr pepper or ate my peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, were the same people on paper who did all of this and so much more, who became so real to me. This was all about the time of my junior and senior year in high school. I had just moved out of my dads and into my mother's house and living there and feeling like an unwanted guest, must have sparked my creative juices. It was no wonder almost all of my characters, especially the younger characters had no parents or dying parents or dead parents. I was none to please with my parental units apparently. (writing is a great catharsis and very revelatory) that first year and the following I actually wrote two 300 plus page books. They will never see the light of day because they are horrid examples of writing, but the thrill of it, the writing, is indescribable to me. The first one was a story of 4 boys (stand by me influence) living in an orphanage (see no parents) The orphanage is corrupt and pretty much a bad place and these 4 boys, three who are good friends and a forth who more or less black mails his way into a great escape. All kinds of misadventures and adventures take place. I was working at Mr Ghattis Pizza at the time and so many of my co-workers made cameos in the book. That disclaimer at the beginning of the book would be a big fat lie. you know the one. Any resemblance to real people living or dead is purely coincidental. HA! The second one that I wrote was really a 400 page love letter to this girl I worked with at the movie theatre where I was working. Except this time, the character were wholly of my imagination, except that the angst and relationship mirrored what I was going through on the inside and truthfully it was a pretty sappy piece of writing. But I loved writing both of them. I've started many a new work, I've taken creative writing classes, the same class 3 times as a matter of fact and my writing has improved a great deal I believe. Now all I need is a story. Anyway, who knows. That is the one thing that has been on my mind lately. writing.

As for my day, it was pretty humdrum. Work was long and drawn out. Actually the first half was quick. the bookstore and the mall for that matter was packed to the rafter. This tax free weekend. who'd a thought 8.25% would bring these people out in droves. I mean you only save $8 on $100 purchase. But they were out in force. The second half of the day drug by. All the shoppers except the stubborn ones headed for home or a more hospitable environment. Which left those angry tired frustrated shoppers in the mall. Those are the ones that just make my day. No really they do. So the day dragged, the customers pretty much blew and by 9:30 I was glad to be out of there. I open in the morning which is a good thing. before the day gets too long I get to go home. YEAH!!

Supposed to be going to Cafe Brazil, to have the best chicken nachos on the planet in about 30 minutes or so, depending on how long it takes everybody to get ready. me I've been ready for ever. I would say its because I'm a guy, but that just don't work in this situation. Oh well. What can I say. They're just slow. We'll see how the evening progresses and an update will be forthcoming. Until then. Read me later.

neurosis ~ catharsis