navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



In the Land of Barking Daisies and Dive Bombing Butterflies

2001-08-23 - 12:37 a.m.
Its about damned time you decided to update you lil bastard. I know that's what your thinking and I have to say I am shocked and appalled at the rudeness! Shocked I tell you. Actually I have been a bit uninspired as of late. Apparently that is not a good enough excuse to not write in a journal.

Work has been a bit mundane of late. Except for the occasional scavenger hunt to find a name tag or a locker key, its been down right boring. But its usually that way when Martha is working anyway. That whole "you should work while your at work and not have any fun" really gets old after awhile. So I really have no choice what I am going to do when she leaves for the day.

I guess I didn't get to tell you how awesome Evita was. 2 years ago if someone would have told me that I was going to be enjoying Broadway shows at the Bass I would have laughed in your face. Laughed long and loud and hard until I was out of breath and collapsed on the ground. But the occasional trip to the theatre is really great. And on that note I have to say EVITA was awesome. It really was. I wasn't expecting it to be near as good as it turned out to be. Much better than Jekyll & Hyde. Sorry jennifer, you got the worst of the two. But fret not, there is a whole slew of other shows coming this winter. Anyway Evita, It was good. Everyone played their parts wonderfully. The girl who played Evita and the guy who played Che Guervera were my favorites. it was phenomenal. Makes me happy that I do like to go to the theatre. I bought season tickets to Broadway at the Bass during intermission. They have some good shows coming this winter. So it'll be cool. And April is open so I don't have to worry about rescheduling my trip to London if I go. Which I do want to do again.

After the show, I called Jenni and Wade and they came over and we went to bennigans. I had mary McClary's very berry pie and I have to say it was very berry. and good too. But I was so full. I had eaten at Chili's for supper before the show. I had the southern fried catfish, shared an awesome blossom and then a dessert, so i was pretty stuffed to begin with. I was miserable after Bennigans. After Bennigans we came back to the apartment and watched three episodes of Sex in the City. I wasn't too hip to the idea cuz well I had seen it when I had HBO and the episode I saw wasn't exactly the most inspired. Maybe I was having a bad day. I'm not sure. Anyway these were good. After that, they all went home and I went to bed.

Monday was a good day at work. Probably because Martha was off work and so when the cats away the mice did play. I worked first though, cuz there weren't any fun mice to play with. Carolyn is one of those employees who if you are running a business, she's the perfect employee. She is always working and it makes me feel guilty. So I usually work when she's there. Not that I don't work, cuz I really do. But I like to have a little fun at work too. So that's what I did before Derek got there, I hid his nametag and made him do a scavenger hunt to find it. Apparently he doesn't like to do scavenger hunts. Course it didn't stop him from hiding my locker keys and doing a scavenger hunt that was a lot more of a pain than mine. So really I am going to have to get back at him somehow. Anyway after work, everyone came over to go swimming. Jessica even came over and stood in the water. Apparently she can't swim and wasn't willing to take part as Wade and Jenni tried to dunk me and I have to admit they did get three good dunks on me. And I hardly got them at all, oh wait that would be me if they had any upper body strength at all. They went down more times than the happy hookers at Harry Hines. Anyway after that good calories burning exercises we ordered some pizza and watched more Sex in the City. Afterwards everybody went their separate ways and all was well with the world.

Tuesday was a bit of a bust. I was supposed to have lunch with Jenni after she got off work but she called in sick with an ear ache and so she stayed home. Wade didn't get up in time to go to 24hour fitness so we didn't get memberships. I did go swimming though, so that was good. And then I just lounged around the apartment. I did talk to mel for a little bit. SHe is still working on the big Oil & Gas case that she was the court reporter for and she has another deposition that she has to get done before she goes off to Sunny florida for a week. She's so lucky. I wish I had a vacation I could mosey off to next week. Alas I don't.

School starts next week. Granted all my classes are just extra stuff to keep my mind occuppied but still, its school, right? Granted creative writing, acting I, and Theatre appreciation aren't exactly your building blocks for a great academic career, but that's what I wanted to take so that's what i am taking. I'm enriching and broadening my academic base, yeah, that's it.

Anyway after everyone got off work, Paige kindly swung by and we headed on over to Wade's while he changed and ate and ambled around aimlessly for a bit. He does that when he is at home. Time gets away from him. hehehehehehe. Anyway then we head on over to jenni's, grabbed her and headed over to B&N, aka the evil empire. Always has been, except during the cold war when Russia was the evil empire, now its Barnes & Noble. Anyway we looked around until they closed and then we went to downtown Fort Worth, ambled around a bit, really doing nothing, went to the Water Gardens and then to Bennigans for a late night snack.

This is why we are having to have a 24hour fitness membership. right here. Late night eating bad! Especially when all they are serving is appetizers. Anyway the nachos I had were okay this time as opposed to the last time we ate there when they were bad, the service was bad, and as I recall I was in a funk, so all in all a much better visit to the Bennigans downtown. We were going to watch more sex in the city along with devouring some cheesecake (bad!) but then Wade had to open in the morning and he didn't need to be late so we called it a night.

Talked to Brandon C online yesterday for a little bit too. His birthday was last weekend and we all missed it. It sounded like he had fun without us though. He went sky diving for his birthday. Sounded like a blast though. I still wish we could have at least been able to wish him a timely birthday.. I think my exact words were "oh shit....we all missed it. crap. happy belated birthday." Touching, huh? I told him that Jenni and Wade were friends again and he seemed a bit taken aback. he said he didn't understand people sometimes. Then he had to go. I don't know what to think about that though.

Yesterday instead of updating I wrote a short story. Its a sappy little love story when you get right down to it, but still its the first time I have written anything for a while now. its not your great literature by any means but still sitting here at the keyboard and creating it, drawing and painting with the words was a wonderful feeling. its not quite finished, needs a little polishing and an ending I suppose, but then I might post it here. Right now its too short of a story. There's still story that needs to be told. Anyway. That's why there was no entry yesterday, well one of the reasons besides no inspirational muse to write about my mundane existence. The only part of the entry that I started yesterday that survived was the subject title, which appropriately enough became the title of the short story too. huh, go figure.

But this is an entry, of sorts. Nothing monumental, nothing worth waiting for, but an entry all the same. Now I gotta go swimming. And you can go read another journal or diaryland.

neurosis ~ catharsis