navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



this little day called sunday

Sunday, Oct. 21, 2001 - 8:17 P.M.
you know I had every intention of going to sleep when I got home last night. Every intention. I got my book that I was going to read before I went to sleep, opened a Dr Pepper as my nightcap ( I know what you're thinking, a caffeinated drink as a night cap? WEell I've built up an immunity to the effects of caffeine apparently) and started happily finishing The Rage by Stephen King writing as Richard Bachman. It was quite a good book. But naturally being a king fan, everything he writes is good. But the Rage was really good and sort of opens your eyes to the fact that school is a breeding ground for hatred and contempt against your fellow classmates to the teachers who are supposed to help and teach instead of belittle and let everybody just get by. Anyway it was good. I contemplated starting the Long Walk. I'd read it before (as I had The Rage) but decided maybe I should wait. Anyway just as I was about to turn out the lights head to the sleeping chamber the phone rings. Its Michael Z.

Whatcha doin? he asks.

Reading. What are you doing?

Calling to see if we can come over and get drunk?

I'm not doing anything. Y'all can come over.

There was more to the conversation, you know stuff like how come you're not going anything else like watching a movie with anyone or going to a haunted house or something, but there were no invitations proffered by anyone to do those things so they came over here.

We watched Life is Beautiful, and it was a good movie. Its starts out and if you think you know what its about, you are taken aback because it doesn't start out that way at all and then as the movie progresses and things start to happen and by the end the inevitable occurs but also it has a beautiful ending. I really liked it. I want to watch it again.

Then we sat around and Michael read some of his crazy emails that he gets from a friend of his one of which I had him forward....it was so funny I think I will post it here.....hold on.....

> Why did the chicken cross the road?

>

>

>

> JERRY FALWELL:

>

> Because the chicken was gay! Isn't it obvious?

> Can't you people see the plain truth in front of

> your face?

> The chicken was going to the "other side."

> That's what "they" call it -- the "other side."

> Yes, my friends, that chicken is gay.

> And, if you eat that chicken, you will

> become gay too.

>

> I say we boycott all chickens until we

> sort out this abomination that the liberal media

> whitewashes with seemingly harmless phrases

> like "the other side." That chicken

> should not be free to cross the road.

> It's as plain and simple as that.

>

> PAT BUCHANAN

> To steal a job from a decent, hardworking American.

>

> DR. SEUSS:

> Did the chicken cross the road?

> Did he cross it with a toad?

> Yes! The chicken crossed the road,

> but why it crossed, I've not been told!

>

> ERNEST HEMINGWAY:

> To die. In the rain.

>

> MARTIN LUTHER KINGJR.,

> I envision a world where all chickens will

> be free to cross roads without having their

> motives called into question.

>

> GRANDPA:

> In my day, we didn't ask why the chicken

> crossed the road. Someone told us that the chicken

> crossed the road, and that was good enough for us.

>

> ARISTOTLE:

> It is the nature of chickens to cross the road.

>

> KARL MARX:

> It was a historical inevitability.

>

> SADDAM HUSSEIN:

> This was an unprovoked act of rebellion and

> we were quite justified in dropping 50 tons of

> nerve gas on it.

>

> RONALD REAGAN:

> What chicken?

>

> KEN STARR:

> I intend to prove that the chicken crossed the

> road at the behest of the president of the United

> States of America in an effort to distract law

> enforcement officials and the American public from

> the criminal wrongdoing our highest elected official

> has been trying to cover up.

>

> As a result, the chicken is just another pawn

> in the president's ongoing and elaborate

> scheme to obstruct justice and undermine the

> rule of law. For that reason, my staff intends to

> offer the chicken unconditional immunity provided

> he cooperates fully with our investigation.

>

> Furthermore, the chicken will not be permitted

> to reach the other side of the road until

> our investigation and any Congressional

> follow-up investigations have been completed.

>

> (We also are investigating whether Sid Blumenthal

> has leaked information to the Reverend Jerry

> Falwell,

> alleging the chicken to be homosexual in an effort

> to discredit any useful testimony the bird may

> have to offer, or at least to ruffle his feathers.)

>

> CAPTAIN JAMES T. KIRK:

> To boldly go where no chicken has gone before.

>

> FOX MULDER:

> You saw it cross the road with your own eyes.

> How many more chickens have to cross before you

> believe it?

>

> FREUD:

> The fact that you are at all concerned that the

> chicken crossed the road reveals your underlying

> sexual insecurity.

>

> BILL GATES:

> I have just released E-Chicken 2000, which

> will not only cross roads, but will lay eggs, file

> your important documents, and balance your checkbook

> --

> and Internet Explorer is an inextricable part of

> E-Chicken.

>

> EINSTEIN:

> Did the chicken really cross the road or did the

> road move beneath the chicken?

>

> BILL CLINTON:

> I did not cross the road with THAT chicken.

> What do you mean by chicken? Could you define

> chicken please?

>

> LOUIS FARRAKHAN:

> The road, you will see, represents the black man.

> The chicken crossed the "black man" in order to

> trample him and keep him down.

>

> THE BIBLE:

> And God came down from the heavens, and He said

> unto the chicken,"Thou shalt cross the road." And

> the

> chicken crossed the road, and there was much

> rejoicing.

>

> COLONEL SANDERS:

> I missed one?


Anyway besides that one, there were some other funny ones too. 4:00 a.m. rolled around and I made them get out of my room and I went to sleep. They went to sleep very shortly after, or at the very least they turned out the lights but I was probably asleep minutes after I lay down. Woke up surprisingly enough around 8:30 and tried to go back to sleep and was semi successful. GOt up took a shower and went into work for a couple of hours to make up for the hours I won't be able to work on Monday and Wednesday. truthfully it was just to be able to do nothing for a couple of hours and talk to Derek. I know that's the truth of it. I mean I guess I could have made the hours up some other time during the week, but this way I didn't really have to help customers and I could work leisurely. I scanned returns in the history and social science and science fiction/fantasy section. And talked to Derek. When it boils right down to it, he is my favorite person to work with and Martha scheduled us opposite shifts all week long. Apparently we get nothing done when we work together, which is bullshit, but still we have our share of fun.

Anyway came back after a long two hour shift and found then still lounging about like a couple of loafers listening to music.

Anyway other than that, I haven't done anything remotely fascinating at all. Such is my life today. But its a day of leisure so I won't complain.

It has been such a long week. I am so tired. I want to sleep all day and all night. I want to just do nothing. TO stare at the ceiling, to breathe ever so shallow, to think of nothing more than my next breath, to feel only the sheet under my skin and the air above me, to ponder my dreams, bright flashing dreams that I won't remember which is good because of the energy I would expend. I shouldn't be so tired as this. I should be so ...... I'm overcome suddenly with this great feeling of lethargy, antipathy about everything.

I've had a cookie and some chips today to eat and a Dr pepper or two. Maybe that's my problem, no real solid food. I have a fridge full of alcohol, not to mention a cabinet full of hard liquor. Part of me wants to go all at it and drink till I'm sick. Why is that? I haven't had anything today though. I almost didn't last night too, but I had a grand marnier shot, well actually I think I had two. I didn't really feel it. Michael seemed to be enjoying the rocking of the earth and the rolling of the room, but that was cuz he didn't eat much yesterday so what he drank had an effect on him. It was sort of humorous. And Katherine didn't seem to affected by her drinks.

This entry is a bit...scary? Yeah that's it. I'm rambling all over the place. SO I should go. Read me later

neurosis ~ catharsis