navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



anniversaries, holidays and other days gone by

Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2002 - 8:50 A.M.
You know, I'm not the same person I was two years ago when I started this diaryland. Okay technically 1 year 364 days ago. I'm not. You wouldn't think that a person could change a lot in two years and I guess on the surface I really haven't changed all that much, but underneath there has been a true upheaval going on. I don't think its done doing whatever its been doing either. SO in a sense whether it was the diary itself or the mitigating factors in my life, those being the people around me and all of life itself, it has been something of a catharsis.

This diaryland may not have been very revelatory to some of you, but had you known me two years ago, it may well be a bit eye opening. I'm not saying I'm a whole brand new person, that is certainly not the case, but I am different even if it is shades of grey. Sounds a bit like upheaval was not the apporpriate word. But it felt like upheaval at the time. Coming to terms with ones feelings and emotions, coming to terms with one's life in general and all that can be something of an upheaval, wouldn't you say? Suffice to say starting year three of this diaryland in a couple of days I'm hoping that I can get back to a daily routine. I've not had that for about a month or so. Just sporadic entries.

Tomorrow is Halloween (not a holiday) and it seems I have this image from when I was really little and living in Alaska and my dad driving us from house to house in the car and us risking life and limb to climb ice and snow covered steps to trick or treat and we reach this one house where the lights are on and at the top of the steps is anoutdoor barbecue grill (you know those really cheap flat ones, but its filled with candy. And you think any rational child given the opportunity to take as much candy as they want would do just that. Dad's in the idling car, the windows slightly fogged, the candy is glistening in all its multicolored wrappings and I take one piece, maybe two, I'm not sure. Instead of a whole handful, instead of tilting that grill to one side and filling my bag up with loot all I take is One or two piece. A handful wouldn't have been missed. What the hell was wrong with me? I've been like that all my life. Too tentative to take what's been handed to me in a proverbial platter. So here I am many years later. And while I don't have a grill full of candy to take, I have things that are much more important within my grasp. And if I pass them by, I'll have more regrets in my bag than anything else. And the last thing I want right now is to regret what might have been.

Sounds profound, doesn't it?

I hung out with my mom yesterday. We went out to Fort Worth and took pictures of the old post office, the old train station, then we took the Trinity Railway Express over to Dallas, had lunch in the West End and visited Dealey Plaza. I'm a big fan of Kennedy, the good and the bad. No other president has had his life more revealed than this one and he is the most human of presidents because everything has been truly dissected both the pros and the cons. We rode the train back, went to the stockyards and proceeded to take more photographs. I'm considering it as my final photography project.

Monday Derek and I went to the Dallas World Aquarium. I'd never been before and I am wishing I had had color film as well as th black and white film that I had with me. It was truly amazing. If you've never been, you need to go. I'll go with you. :) Unless you're a complete stranger, then you'll just have to go by yourself, or bring friends. Anyway, it was really cool. Then we were up at UNT as he edited down his project which took FOREVER. But it turned out really good, in my humble, non professionally educated opinion.

Sunday, I went up and worked at Derek's store. It wasdisgustingly filthy work. Where talking prehistoric dust bunnies. I'm surprised they weren't fossilized. Then that night Derek Leroy and I went and saw White Oleander. It was something of a depressing film. But the acting was good. IMHO

Saturday. Saturday Sela Ward did an autographing in the store. You know she's the one from the tv show Once and Again and Sisters. She looked incredible, I mean oh my god she's beautiful and she looked just like s she did on tv beautiful. It was incredible. I even got to put my arm around her in the staff picture. She stood right next to me, put her arm around my waist and I told her I was going to put my arm around her shoulder. But she was just beautiful. As you all may know, Meg Ryan is my all time favorite crush of a movie actress, with Julia Roberts running a short distance back. But my favorite television actress from that day forward would have to be Sela Ward. Perhaps it was the close contact, the looking straight into my eyes and smiling,.....whatever it was, I was completely enamoured. She is beautiful you know.

That thursday before, the President of the company came and visited our store. We of course dazzled him, as we do every time, but still it took some real work to get the store read. That night Wade, Michael Z and I went to Village. Michael and I got pretty toasted. It was fun.

And the Tuesday before that we had Terry Bradshaw. its been something of a packed week at work.

Anyway there's a random sampling, okay not really random as we went day by day back but that's been my week.

Anyway since I probably won't update again before tomorrow, Happy Halloween everybody,even though....it's nota holiday!

neurosis ~ catharsis