navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



should I stay, or should go........

Monday, Jan. 06, 2003 - 10:59 P.M.
Michigan

andrewhobbs2002: how was your day

Meljoey: my day was fine, except they canceled adult co-ed volleyball at church for recarpeting reasons. Bummer. How was your day?

andrewhobbs2002: well nothing as traumatic as that. It was alright. Tolerable at least

Meljoey: lol

Meljoey: work busy lateley?

Meljoey: lately, that is

andrewhobbs2002: steady, not busy. the christmas season has finally passed us by again

Meljoey: finally?

Meljoey: didn't it make the days just whiz by, though? being busy?

andrewhobbs2002: yes, but its also very hectic and crazed sometimes

Meljoey: I understand

Meljoey: so what are you doing tonight?

andrewhobbs2002: just watching tv and relaxing

Meljoey: watching what on tv?

andrewhobbs2002: Simpson's

andrewhobbs2002: Have you ever watched Everwood?

Meljoey: nope

andrewhobbs2002: its another one of those, try not to watch it cuz you'll get addicted

Meljoey: how can you watch the Simpsons? Doesn't Homer drive you NUTS?

andrewhobbs2002: yes, but its so funny

Meljoey: lol

Meljoey: I like Bart's saucy comments and sarcasm -- though I can't say I've ever reallywatched.

andrewhobbs2002: truthfully it is probably the best written comedy on television, filled with all kinds of satire. Its delightfully funny

Meljoey: best written comedy? I doubt that!

Meljoey: What about Seinfeld? Friends?

andrewhobbs2002: no really, it is. both very good comedies as well, but for a cartoon that has been on for 17 years and even this year was chosen by the American FIlm institute as one of thebest programs on television, I think you think just because its a cartoon that it isn't in the same league

Meljoey: 17 yrs. wow

Meljoey: I had no idea

andrewhobbs2002: yup

Meljoey: what have I been missing! Gasp!

andrewhobbs2002: You should rent one of the seasons and watch it

Meljoey: perhaps

andrewhobbs2002: seasons one and two are available

andrewhobbs2002: I think three too

Meljoey: though I don't want Shae takling like Bart

andrewhobbs2002: lol

Meljoey: talking

andrewhobbs2002: she could talk like Lisa

Meljoey: Egads!

Meljoey: she is so funny. we dont' allow her to say "I can't" or "stupid", etc. and she's like the word police. We'll be out in public and she'll hear someone say that and she'll get wide-eyed and say, Mom, that's a bad word, isn't it? And none to quietly either.

andrewhobbs2002: lol. that's so funny

Meljoey: did I tell you she's decided to be a cheerleader? I have a blonde blue eyed cheerleader. How could I be oh so lucky?

andrewhobbs2002: hehehehe, and you loved them oh so much when you were in school

Meljoey: GROSS

Meljoey: maybe in a small town it'll be diff

andrewhobbs2002: yeah because there's no big city to distract them from everything else but football and cheerleading

Meljoey: LMAO

Meljoey: well...I know we just said hello...but I've got to get to bed. Have to get to work early so this lady can drop off her dog before work.

Meljoey: I"ll look you up manana

andrewhobbs2002: okay

andrewhobbs2002: :-(

Meljoey: night

Meljoey: SORRY

andrewhobbs2002: s'oaky

Meljoey: did you need to talk?

andrewhobbs2002: nah

Meljoey: ARE YOU SURE?

andrewhobbs2002: yeah

Meljoey: for you I would stay up all night

Meljoey: but it better be real angst....hee hee hee

andrewhobbs2002: no, no, you go to bed, get your sleep. All's well

Meljoey: Now I feel rotten

Meljoey: lol

andrewhobbs2002: no

andrewhobbs2002: its nothing

Meljoey: I'm not tired. really. go ahead

andrewhobbs2002: its nothing

Meljoey: All right, don't make me come through this monitor

Meljoey: it won't be pretty

Meljoey: did you not get your financial aid?

andrewhobbs2002: a little bit on thefreaky side actually

andrewhobbs2002: no I have to call them tomorrow

Meljoey: ah

Meljoey: so what's up?

andrewhobbs2002: its just the whole michigan thing

Meljoey: and?

Meljoey: is it tugging you?

andrewhobbs2002: and I'm really leaning towards it

Meljoey: wow

Meljoey: so what's Ann Arbor like?

andrewhobbs2002: I don't know. The Univ of Michigan is there

andrewhobbs2002: so its a college town

Meljoey: is that a good school?

andrewhobbs2002: supposed to be

Meljoey: what's it known for? like pre med, law, what?

andrewhobbs2002: I'm not sure

Meljoey: what's the weather like this time of year there?

andrewhobbs2002: it gets very cold

andrewhobbs2002: its right below canada

Meljoey: like negative ?

andrewhobbs2002: afterall

Meljoey: lol

Meljoey: smartass

andrewhobbs2002: he he, who me

Meljoey: lol

Meljoey: that's like this guy came in and said he was from north of Wisconsin and we were like, there's nothing north of Wisconsin. And he said, wellthere's this little place called Canada.

Meljoey: anyway, so...?

andrewhobbs2002: lololol

andrewhobbs2002: its the whole thing about pullingup all my roots and leaving everything and everybody behind

Meljoey: scary

Meljoey: starting over, drastic change is scary

andrewhobbs2002: no, its more like I am going to lose everyone down here

Meljoey: but it's like I told you about the moving to London thing. If youhate it you can always come back

Meljoey: you've only known Derek and WAde ane Paige and the rest for, what, a year? You make friends very easily

andrewhobbs2002: yes I just had this conversation with Derek too

andrewhobbs2002: Its not so much amking the NEW friends, but losingthe old ones

Meljoey: I understand. But I'm sure he told you, you won't lose us. I mean, IM and email make it very easy to stay in touch. But also, it wont be the same as dropping by or having them drop by for dinner/lunch/movies, etc.

andrewhobbs2002: not the same at all

Meljoey: You could tell yourself you'll give it 12 months and if by the end you are in misery you come home. If you lost your friends in just 12 months they wouldn't be very good friends.

andrewhobbs2002: yes but the problem is, what if those friends aren't here if I come back

andrewhobbs2002: their lives move on and mine moves on and its like I hate this feeling

Meljoey: They are going to move on regardless if you stay or go.

Meljoey: You'll either be a part of their moving on or not.

andrewhobbs2002: I know, i know, i know.

Meljoey: But geography shouldn't change that. I mean, you and I don't get to see each other more than a couple three times a year but we still are a part of each other's lives

andrewhobbs2002: I know, but 90 miles is not the same as 1500

Meljoey: seems like it most days

andrewhobbs2002: true

Meljoey: I know I'm not helping

Meljoey: I want to make changes too but I'm terrified

andrewhobbs2002: same conversation almost verbatim with Derek

Meljoey: LOL

Meljoey: I am Derek...hee hee hee...

Meljoey: you've found me out

andrewhobbs2002: lol

andrewhobbs2002: sigh.........

Meljoey: yes, I know. big heavy sigh

Meljoey: why don't you do this. Apply for the position. If they ask you up for an interview, go. Check the place out, see how it FEELS to you. If you don't like it, don't accept the job.

Meljoey: If the doors seem to be opening and everything seems to fall into place, then you'll know it's meant to be

andrewhobbs2002: well the door seems to be opening even from here, I mean everyone from my dm to the pres of the company, well former pres., asked if I thought about working in the home office

andrewhobbs2002: but I need to apply

Meljoey: then perhaps it's meant ot be

Meljoey: so take the initial steps and see what happens

Meljoey: who would you interview with? up in MI? or here?

andrewhobbs2002: Well I don't know, I know that my dm is already willing to support the promotion

Meljoey: so get them to fly you to MI for a look-see

Meljoey: if they want you, they'll do that. And then get them to throw in a moving bonus or whatever

andrewhobbs2002: yeah, lots to think about this week

Meljoey: sleepless nights

andrewhobbs2002: I hope not, I NEED my beauty sleep

Meljoey: oh, please.

andrewhobbs2002: its true

andrewhobbs2002: okay speaking of sleepless nights, you need to go on to bed

andrewhobbs2002: I'll tlak to you tomorrow

andrewhobbs2002: and see if I can bum you out a little more too

andrewhobbs2002: :-)

Meljoey: lol-- you aren't burning me out.

Meljoey: And you reallymeant, speaking of needing beautysleep, didn't you?

Meljoey: busted

andrewhobbs2002: no I did not...........except for when referring to me

Meljoey: LOL

Meljoey: night

Meljoey: talkt oyou manana

andrewhobbs2002: g'night. thanks for chatting with me

andrewhobbs2002: yes

Meljoey: feel free to call me on my cell phone anytime: XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have voicemail and text messaging: [email protected] (I think).

Meljoey: talk to you later

andrewhobbs2002: okay. sweet dreams

Meljoey: back at ya

Meljoey signed off at 10:58:52 PM.

neurosis ~ catharsis