navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:
Naked Prey by John Sandford


Watching:



Sunday, blue sundays

Tuesday, May. 13, 2003 - 8:57 A.M.
I saw my dad on Sunday, mother's day.... He dropped by to see me at work. Which was kinda odd, so much so that my co-workers said something along the lines of how unusual it is that my dad dropped by. I don't see him much, you see, thus making it unusual. I know, I've got a way with words don't I. He stayed for about 10 minutes, not really talking about much, asking about James, and Tim, funny he didn't mention Ben. Told me about his trip to Arizone to scatter my step mother's ashes. TOld me about his trips to Oklahoma and Nevada to play the one arm bandits and his living off of Bingo winnings. Told me about his oldest sibling passing away and his oldest brother coming to live with him and how he had to clean up the house. Told me about the extended family members wanting to have a family reunion. I told him that my cousin was wanting to do the same thing. Told me about his desire not to be retired and wanting to go back to work for Mansfield police department, if they'll take him. While he's telling me all this, I'm looking at him and see how old he is, how time and age has ravaged him. He's a heavy smoker, heavy heavy smoker and he's still very healthy, physically, takes no medications at all and aside from a paunchy stomach he is is tremendous health. Course he says as an aside, that he hasn't been to a doctor for them to tell him there's something wrong. When I first saw him, I gave him a hug. He started to put out his hand for me to shake but I just hugged him. And when he left, I hugged him again. I watched him leave, recognized that he is still healthy, at least he appeared healthy, he's still sorta stocky like James and I was relieved that he still looked healthy, he looked old, but healthy.

After work I saw my mother and took her to Ddinner at Outback. WHen I told her where I wanted to go, she asked me if I need a new knife (they have really cool steak knives and I have procured a few.) SHe's sorta clever, my mother.. SHe told me about work and how she'd been there twenty years come tuesday, about her new "friend" she calls him, the Vetinarian, who she had over for dinner and how she cooked brisket and how she cooked it too long and it was chewy and she told him so and he said it was good, that it was like how his mother cooked it, and then she had him over again for roast and how Ben was there and after he left, Ben told her that he looked like Han Solo and my mother said I know, in her swoony voice she gets when she talks about Harrison Ford. And then she said she wanted me to be there next time she cooks him dinner. And she told me about the collector who called looking for me. I told her that she missed seeing Dad by a couple of hours. I had a giant Margarita my mom had a large beer and we waited at the bar for us to have a table and we waited for about an hour and 20 minuted (it was mother's day , afterall) and then we had dinner and she asked me about school and I told her it was fine and she asked me about next fall and I told her I didn't know what I was taking next semester. She asked me if I had filed for Bankruptcy yet, I told her no, not yet. She talked about Tim and our visit at Easter and how Keegan seemed rather lethargic and how sahe thought there might be something wrong with him and how she had talked to Renee and how tehy thought that she thought that somehow there was some sort of abuse going on and how both Tim and Renee were mad about it when she just saw him for one day when and how she doesn't see him all the time and when I talked to him earlier I was thinking how she was just worried about him because he's usually a very peppy kid. And she told me about how she wasn't feeling too good, not phyiscally but pyschologically or emotionally and I told her it might have to do with the weather because she's the type who needs bright sunshine and sorta cool air and how its been muggy and damp and gray and storming and humid for the better part of two weeks and that the first day that it wasn't like that was on Mother's Day when I opened the door and it was cool and blue skies out and she said that might be it, but that she might go to see the doctor. She's on antidepressants amoung other things.

So I worked all day, had a short encounter with my dad and we "caught up" sorta and then dinner with my mom and that big margarita was nice and I came home afterwards and was for some reason all exhausted and laid down on my bed and was out like a light in no time flat apparently because Derek had tried to call and I was asleep before 10:00. Course this was after someone, who shall remain nameless suggested we go out and have Cafe Brazil but then wasn't feeling well and snubbed me for the warm comfort of his home. :)

Anyway, that was my Sunday.

Monday was fairly uneventful too. Worked in the morning and came home and watched tv and talked to Wade while he was at work and then he came over and we rushed out to half price books and looked for 5 minutes actually a lot less and left cuz they were closing. He came over and watched tv for a bit, FRIENDS, Everybody Loves Raymond, part of Will & Grace, I think, then went home to eat and play video games with Paige. After he left I made a big batch of spaghetti sauce, its delicious. And cooked up a large package of noodles and separated them and into servings sizes, not human serving sizes mind you, but larger serving sizes saran wrapped into balls. and then I played on the computer and talked to people on line and contemplated an update. I watched to crappy movies and about 4:30 went to sleep. The phone rang at 6:51 this morning. I let it ring and slept fitfully for about anohter two hours and through two more phone calls, which just rang too. Then I turned on my computer, checked for my grades on line to see if they were posted and was happily surprised with the results, (better than I was expecting) especially for not attending at all. Then started this wonderful, albeit mundane, entry. ALl the while contemplating a Dr Pepper that is sitting in my refrigerator and how I'm too lazy at the moment to get up and get it, lol.

neurosis ~ catharsis