navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



Fight the Good Fight

Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002 - 12:04 A.M.


You know on occasion I have been known to have that expression on my very face when riding 'round with a few of my friends. Actually one or two in particular who drive rather maniacally.

People are illogical, unreasonable, and self-centered.
Love them anyway.

If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.

If you are successful, you win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.

The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.

Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.

The biggest men and women with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest men and women with the smallest minds.
Think big anyway.

People favor underdogs but follow only top dogs.
Fight for a few underdogs anyway.

What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.

People really need help but may attack you if you do help them.
Help people anyway.

Give the world the best you have and you'll get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you have

anyway.


There's a new book coming out on the 29th that deals with these sayings. Its called, Anyway, the Paradoxical Commandment. The author puts forth these paradoxical truths that we live with in this world. Its sad that they are true and it would be nice if everyone did what was right The scary thing is that someone has written a book and will be making all this money off of stuff that everybody already knows and its going to come as an epiphany to so many people when it is common enough knowledge. Its so very true.

I read somewhere else, I think it was another diary or something how nice guys finish last. Which in and of itself is a common enough saying. Nice guys do finish last. I think the diary in question said something about how "they don't challenge me enough". Is that it. Apparently being nice is a flaw. So many people tell me I have the patience of Job, that I am too nice, and its is all shaded in this horrible light. Why is that? Its funny, that is why I am friends with so many people that I am friends with ,because I am the way that I am.

SOmetimes I think to myself, that its true, that I should just do this or do that, that I should forget Mr Niceguy and be an ass like so many people, but it hurts me to be that way. Its a physical, tangible ache, and in the long run I will not havebeen a better person.

"I have fought the good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith" -2 Tim 4:7 I hear this in my head when, especially the first part. I have fought the good fight. I'm not a great person. I know that. I know my flaws better than anyone who will ever read this. I'm a nice guy. I may never finish at the top. But I hope that at my death, like Paul, I can say, I fought the good fight. I finished my course. I have kept the faith. I'm sure that Paul is speaking of his faith in God, but I also believe as he is talking about his good fight, and his course, that he too is talking about his faith in himself. I want to fight the good fight. What is the good fight? I think the good fight is mentioned above in that Anyway paradoxical commandment. Those are the good fight.

Tomorrow I have an English paper due. Its supposed to be like a memory paper about something or someone. A dinner, going to bed at night, reading a particular book,a grandmother or grandfather. 650 -750 words. I'm doing mine on my grandmother. Or at least I am trying to. I may write up a fictional memory. The last one I did, like that was for creative writing and well it turned out splendidly well and earned me $100 to boot. So who knows. We'll see what tomorrow will bring.

I had a can of corn and a can of spinach for dinner this evening.Don't ask me why. Probably because they are in the pantry and waiting to be eaten and they went so well after teh big hunk of fudge I had first. I was balancing out my nutrition.

I want to write more, but I'm at a loss. But I need an entry. I just haven't been in the lately to let loose of my story. But here is somethingt o tide you over. Not the greatest of entries I will grant you. I will try harder. Until then you might want to mosey on over to Paige's diaryland Rumor has it she has updated something in her fictional diary. It is bound to be amusing. SO go, be amused!

Read me later

neurosis ~ catharsis