navigation:
current
archives
cast
rings
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

stalk:
email
notes
guestbook

FRIENDS:
Derek
Wade
Paige
Jessica

QUOTE:

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world. - Calvin


Catharsis:
1 : PURGATION
2 a : purification or purgation of the emotions (as pity and fear) primarily through art b : a purification or purgation that brings about spiritual renewal or release from tension
3 : elimination of a complex by bringing it to consciousness and affording it expression


SENSES:
Listening:



Reading:



Watching:



Definitions

Monday, Apr. 29, 2002 - 8:30 P.M.
YOu know what tomorrow is? Well beisdes Tuesday that is. That's obvious. But (and the trumpets blare and the crowd goes wild) tomorrow is the release of the first season of FRIENDS on dvd. Now I know all you British folks have it available already (and for this I would almost hate you, did I not love England so much) But tomorrow I shall have it all to myself, not to sound selfish or anything, I'll share of course. Because everyone knows, I'm a giver. I AM!

I had a profound entry for everyone to read, but it didn't get composed properly. I was in one of those contemplative moods yesterday. I actually wrote it while I was on lunch yesterday kinda responding to a bunch of things, stuff people have said to me, or stuff that they were dealing with.

One of the things that I've been contemplating isthe movie I went and saw with Wade and Paige and the talker. It was "Life or Something Like It" The whole idea of defining what life is supposed to be, has been going through my head alot. Well this is what I wrote....

"Before I get into the meaty topic of the entry I just wanted you all to know that I am watching The Sixth Sense. I love that movie! now onto previous scheduled programming

How great would it be to be able to define life on your own terms, in your own words minus all teh expectations we and others have placed upon us.

Life or Something Like Itbegs the question of defining life and throughout the movie the characters are always saying to one or the other to define life, define love, define death define love and I'm sitting there in the darkened theatre knowing and not knowing how I would define life, love, and all of that

I think we all have in our head these ideas about what life is suppose to be like but often is the case that we strive for something else. Success, money, material things. Everything that will supposably makes us happy, but the simple things we make negligible, unimportant and unnecessary to our well being.

ANyway it seems to be lacking direction or a solid point but since I did write it I figured this would be the place to put it anyway.

Anyway..... other stuff too like this

Guilt. What is guilt? Why do we feel it? Or better yet, why don't we? When should and when is it an obstacle?

I read this quote the other day in another diaryland and I wish I knew where it was from because I thought it rather poignant and profound, striking and stirring, so much so I made a banner


�I would gladly suffer the world�s guilt in exchange for a single night with your skin against mine.�
The thing about the quote that intrigues me most is the willingness of whoever said to feel all the world's guilt and yet there is no mention of personal guilt. What or how much of our guilt is our own or how much is it all the world's guilt. I mean we feel guilty for some of the dumbest things. I don't mean to make light of our feelings of guilt, because to us they are great motivators and or inhibitors. Guilt has its place and function. Sometimes though it keeps us from simply enjoying life, from living life, from something as simple as a movie with a friend to to something as dire as �I would gladly suffer the world�s guilt in exchange for a single night with your skin against mine.�

I had another topic that I was going to blather on about but I figure I've been too deep for one entry. So I am going to let you go and find lighter fare for the time being. Read me later

neurosis ~ catharsis